World Cup 2014: Arjen Robben Escapes Penalty After 'Admitting' to False Dive

Arjen Robben's dive earned Netherlands a penalty which helped the side beat Mexico in their knockout match of FIFA World Cup 2014.

updated: June 30, 2014 22:04 IST
  • Total Shares
Arjen Robben Dive 1
Mexico's Rafael Marquez, left, gestures after 'fouling' Netherlands' Arjen Robben inside the penalty zone.

© AP

Rio de Janeiro: Dutch star Arjen Robben will not face any disciplinary action after admitting to diving during his team's last 16 victory with Mexico, Fifa confirmed on Monday.

Robben, who won a match-winning injury-time penalty to secure a 2-1 win for the Netherlands, admitted later he had dived in a failed attempt to win a spot-kick earlier in the match.

However Fifa spokeswoman Delia Fischer ruled out any possibility of retrospective actions when asked about Robben's comments at a briefing on Monday.

Show Full Article
  • Football
  • FIFA World Cup 2014
  • Arjen Robben
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands