East Bengal crowned Kolkata League Champions for a record 34th time

In his final game in charge of East Bengal, Trevor Morgan guided them to a 3-2 victory over arch-rivals Mohun Bagan.

updated: May 23, 2013 22:57 IST
  • Total Shares

Kolkata: East Bengal defeated arch-rivals Mohun Bagan 3-2 for a record 34th Calcutta Football League Premier Division title at the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan here on Thursday.

Edeh Chidi was the chief architect in their win with a brace (23rd and 72nd), while Orji Penn struck once (29th) against a lacklustre Mohun Bagan who scored through Odafa Okolie (39th) and Tolgay Ozbey (90+3rd).

East Bengal won eight out of eight matches to finish with 24 points as it was a hattrick of wins for English coach Trevor Morgan who completed three seasons at the helm having joined in 2010.

Show Full Article
  • Football
  • Bayern München