Fenerbahce, Beskitas replaced by Apoel, Tromso

Both Fenerbahce and Besiktas were excluded for their roles in a domestic match-fixing scandal in 2011.

updated: August 30, 2013 14:27 IST
  • Total Shares

Monaco: Cypriot side Apoel FC will replace Turkish club Fenerbahce in the Europa League group stage draw to take place in Monaco on Friday, according to UEFA.

Apoel were drawn from all the teams eliminated in the play-off round of the Europa League to replace Fenerbahce, whose appeal against exclusion was rejected Wednesday by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).

Another Turkish club, Besiktas, were also ruled out of the competition after CAS also rejected their appeal against exclusion. Their place will now be taken by Norway's Tromso, who had lost to Beskitas in the play-off round.

Show Full Article
  • Football
  • Dirk Kuyt
  • André Santos
  • Arsenal
  • Tromso
  • Fenerbahce