Indian Super League football set to herald new era, 8 teams to be unveiled on April 13

The nine cities in reckoning for franchises in the Indian Super League football tournament are Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Goa, Guwahati, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai and Pune, out of which eight will be shortlisted.

updated: April 11, 2014 00:08 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi: Seeking to revolutionise football in the country, organisers of the much-anticipated Indian Super League will unveil the eight franchises on Sunday, with cricket legends, Bollywood stars and a host of corporates in the fray to own teams. (Read: Will Sachin Tendulkar buy Kochi team in Indian Super League?)

Organised by IMG Reliance in association with Star India, the league has the backing of All India Football Federation (AIFF), and is likely to see big names such as ex-Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke, former Argentina forward Hernan Crespo and England's Michael Owen.

Bidders include "two Indian cricket legends, five Bollywood celebrities, three I-League clubs and five corporate entities".

Show Full Article
  • Football