Manipur Thrash Orissa; Clinch 20th Women's National Football Championship

Manipur beat defending champions Orissa 3-1 to win the title for the 17th time.

updated: May 12, 2014 22:48 IST
  • Total Shares

There was no stopping the Manipur juggernaut as they downed reigning champions Orissa 3-1 in a lop-sided summit clash of the 20th Women's National Championship for the 17th time at the Golaghat Stadium here Monday.

Goals at the beginning of the first and second period from Bala Devi and one from iconic India player Oinam Bembem Devi sealed the issue for Manipur.

Orissa reduced the arrears in the dying minutes of the tie courtesy substitute Sakina Nesa's close-range prod but it was too little too late for the defending champions.

Manipur's last win came in 2010. An elated Bembem, who led the side to the triumph, said though the win looked facile, the young girls of Orissa, mostly U-19 and playing for the first time, showed verve and a lot of promise.

Show Full Article
  • Football