Team Chennai Replaces Sun Group-Owned Bangalore Franchise in Indian Super League

The Sun Group, owner of the Bangalore franchise, opted out of the eight-team Indian Super League slated to begin early October.

updated: August 21, 2014 12:50 IST
  • Total Shares
Brazuca Balls
Representational photo: 2014 FIFA World Cup balls.


Mumbai: Team Chennai has replaced the Sun Group promoted Bangalore franchise in the Indian Super League football tournament set to be held tentatively between October 12 and December 20, the organisers announced here on Thursday ahead of the International Player Draft featuring 49 players.

"The eighth team in the ISL would be Team Chennai represented today by Prashant Agarwal of Play on Skills which has a technical collaboration with Inter Milan in India," said Anupam Dutta, CEO of ISL's holding company Football Sports Development Private Limited, a joint venture between IMG-Reliance and Star India.

"The owners of the Chennai franchise would be announced later," Dutta added.

Show Full Article