East Bengal Win Calcutta Premier Division League

East Bengal beat Tollygunge Agragami 2-1 to win the Calcutta Football League Premier Division crown for record 36th time.

updated: September 16, 2014 23:58 IST
  • Total Shares
Ranti Martins
Ranti Martins celebrates after scoring for East Bengal.


Kolkata: City giants East Bengal got past Tollygunge Agragami 2-1 to annex their fifth back-to-back and 36th overall Calcutta Football League Premier Division crown here on Tuesday.

Prolhad Roy and Nigerian striker Ranti Martins found the target for the winners while Bello Rassaq struck for the ultimate losers at the largely attended Yuva Bharati Krirangan encounter with all the goals coming during a six-minute spell in the opening session.

East Bengal drew first blood at the half-hour-mark with Roy reaching a loose ball and slamming it home from close.

Show Full Article