Gawli, Mondal, Renedy, Climax nominated for Arjuna

AIFF have nominated Mahesh Gawli, Dipak Mondal, Climax Lawrence and Renedy Singh for this year's Arjuna Awards.

updated: July 20, 2008 11:40 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi:

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) has nominated four footballers for the Arjuna Award and Dempo coach Armando Colaco for the Dronacharya.

The players are Mahesh Gawli, Dipak Mondal, Climax Lawrence and Renedy Singh, who were part of the Nehru Cup winning team last year and should also figure in the team for the AFC Challenge Cup in Hyderabad from July 29.

Colaco, who is also the secretary of the Dempo team, has played a crucial role in the team winning the inaugural I-league and consequently their qualification for the AFC Champions League.

The last footballer to receive the Arjuna Award was I.M. Vijayan in 2002.

Coach Syed Nayeemuddin is the only one to be honoured with both the Arjuna (1970) and Dronacharya (1992).