Lewis Hamilton wins Bahrain Grand Prix, Force India's Sergio Perez finishes third

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton edged teammate Nico Rosberg, while Force India duo Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg finished third and fifth, respectively.

updated: April 06, 2014 23:01 IST
  • Total Shares

Manama: Lewis Hamilton won the Bahrain Grand Prix on Sunday ahead of Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg after a thrilling wheel-to-wheel duel, taking him level with the legendary Juan Manuel Fangio with a 24th career victory. Hamilton, who also won last weekend in Malaysia, finished 1.085sec ahead of Rosberg in another triumph for the Mercedes team who have won all three races this season. Sergio Perez in a Force India was third, a huge 24.067sec off the winner's time, to give his team just their second podium finish.

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo, who had started in 13th place, was fourth, followed by Nico Hulkenberg in the second Force India and world champion Sebastian Vettel in the second Red Bull completing the top six.

The result left Rosberg, the Australian Grand Prix winner, still on top of the world championship standings with 61 points. Hamilton has 50 with Hulkenberg in third place on 28 points.

Show Full Article
  • Formula 1