Australia drub India to win Four Nations title

Australia trounce India 6-0 in the final of the Four Nations field hockey tournament, finishing the tournament unbeaten in seven matches.

updated: February 25, 2007 09:27 IST
  • Total Shares


Australia trounced India 6-0 in the final of the Four Nations field hockey tournament today. With this win, they finished the tournament unbeaten in seven matches. The Kookaburras made a fast start, racing to a 3-0 lead after just nine minutes and effectively ended the match as a contest. Troy Elder opened the scoring in the fourth minute from a penalty corner, Michael McCann added another a minute later and Craig Victory latched onto McCann's backhanded pass to score in the ninth minute. Jamie Dwyer beat Indian goalkeeper Devesh Chavhan to complete the four-goal first half and then scored his second goal in the 48th minute when he flicked home a pass from Nathan Eglington. Aaron Hopkins completed the rout in the 65th minute. Dwyer was denied a hat-trick when Chavhan saved his back-handed shot with less than two minutes remaining. South Korea beat Malaysia 3-2 in extra-time in the third-place playoff, with Woon Kon-Yeo scoring the deciding goal from a penalty corner. Woon's second strike of the match proved decisive after the teams were level at 2-2 at the end of regulation time. The Koreans opened the scoring through Woon's penalty stroke in the 17th minute, but Malaysia levelled the scores just before the break when Mohd Fakrul Razi Bahruddin lunged to tap in an equalizer. Sung Hoon-Yoon put the Koreans ahead for the second time before Malaysian skipper Kuhan Shanimuganathan's late equalizer. (PIT)