India clubbed with Australia in Pool A for hockey World Cup

Pool A will consist of the defending champions Australia, England, Belgium, India, Spain and Malaysia. Hockey World Cup is scheduled to take place in The Netherlands from May 31 to June 15.

updated: January 22, 2014 22:55 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi: Eight-time Olympic champions, India have been clubbed with five other nations, including 2010 world champions and world number one Australia, in Pool A for the men's hockey World Cup which is scheduled to be held at The Netherlands from May 31 to June 15.

The inaugural edition of the men's hockey World League Final just concluded and the FIH on Wednesday revealed the pools for this summer's hockey World Cup.

"Pool A will consist of the 2010 World Cup champions Australia (World Ranking: 1), England (4), Belgium (5), India (8), Spain (10) and Malaysia (13), while Olympic champions Germany (2) will face hosts, the Netherlands (3), New Zealand (6), Korea (7), Argentina (11) and South Africa (12) in Pool B," FIH said in a release.

Show Full Article
  • Hockey