Charlesworth inducted into Australian Hall of Fame

The Australian was taken into the inaugural Hall of Fame of Hockey Australia in Perth.

updated: July 17, 2008 16:11 IST
  • Total Shares


Ric Charlesworth has something to cheer about.

The Australian, facing a torrid time as technical adviser to Indian hockey, was inducted into the inaugural Hall of Fame of Hockey Australia at a gala dinner in Perth.

Four-time Olympians Charlesworth, Eric Pearce and Liane Tooth are among the 11 male and 11 female former players to enter the Hall of Fame status Sunday at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Charlesworth had flown all the way from India to be present at the ceremony.

Inducted posthumously were Evelyn Tazewell, May Campbell and Audrey James and were represented by their families and friends. Rest all the 19 inductees were present.

Hockey Australia's Hall of Fame has been established to formally recognise those who have achieved excellence in the international arena and, by their achievements have significantly enhanced the image of the sport.

Richard Aggiss, Hockey Australia Board Member and a member of the Hall of Fame selection committee, said that the process of selection was difficult.

"Selection was difficult but an exciting process -- reviewing the history of the game going back to the early 1900's and comparing those players against the current era made selection a tough task," said Aggiss.

Each Hall of Fame inductee received a custom minted solid silver medallion struck by Perth Mint, this keepsake set to become the perpetual memento to all Hall of Fame inductees.

2008 Hall of Fame Inductees:

Ian Dick: Australian debut 1948, Western Australia

Eric Pearce: Australian debut 1955, Western Australia

Julian Pearce: Australian debut 1960, Western Australia

Paul Dearing: Australian debut 1963, New South Wales

Brian Glencross OAM: Australian debut 1964, Western Australia

Robert Haigh: Australian debut 1966, South Australia

Ron Riley OAM: Australian debut 1967, New South Wales

Ric Charlesworth OAM: Australian debut 1972, Western Australia

David Bell OAM: Australian debut 1975, Western Australia

Warren Birmingham: Australian debut 1984, New South Wales

Mark Hager: Australian debut 1985, Queensland

Evelyn Tazewell: Australian debut 1925, Tasmania

May Campbell (nee Pearce): Australian debut 1934, Western Australia

Audrey James (nee Jones): Australian debut 1946, Western Australia

Wendy Pritchard (nee Butcher): Australian debut 1965, Western Australia

Mavis Gray (nee Beckett): Australian debut 1969, Western Australia

Dianne Gorman OAM (nee Dowd): Australian debut 1972, New South Wales

Marian Aylmore (nee Bell): Australian debut 1974, Western Australia

Robyn Bannerman OAM (Davis, nee Downey): International debut 1975, Victoria

Sharon Buchanan OAM (Patmore/Reid): Australian debut 1980, Western Australia

Liane Tooth OAM: Australian debut 1984, New South Wales

Jackie Pereira OAM: Australian debut 1986, Western Australia

Source: Hockey Australia