Indian hockey squad named for Punjab Gold Cup

Selectors announced an 18-member Indian hockey team for the inaugural four-nation Punjab Gold Cup tournament to be played from Saturday.

updated: January 30, 2009 17:24 IST
  • Total Shares


Ad-hoc selection committee of Indian hockey on Friday announced an 18-member squad to be led by drag-flicker Sandeep Singh for the inaugural four-nation Punjab Gold Cup tournament starting here on Saturday.

The squad was announced here by selection committee chairman Ajit Pal Singh.

Besides hosts India, Olympic champions Germany, the Netherlands and New Zealand are participating in the tournament to be organised by the Punjab government.

The team:

Goalkeepers: Baljit Singh, Adrian D'Souza.

Defenders: Dilip Tirkey, Sandeep Singh, VR Raghunath.

Midfielders: Gurbaj Singh, VS Vinay, Vikram Pillay, Prabhod Tirkey, Ignace Tirkey.

Forwards: Deepak Thakur, Prabhjot Singh, Shivendra Singh, Rajpal Singh, Arjun Halappa, Tushar Khandekar, SV Sunil, Bharat Chhikara.

Officials: Harendra Singh (coach in-charge), Ramandeep Singh (coach), Romeo James (coach).