Adelaide: India don't want to create controversy about the five-ball of the 30th over that may or may not have made a difference to the final result of a tight game, a tie. However, it gave MS Dhoni an opportunity to raise the question that, with so much technology available, why couldn't the officials ensure the proper counting of balls, and why blindly follow the DRS?
The essence of Dhoni's comments, though, was that this could easily be turned into a controversy but he didn't want to do so. "Duncan (Fletcher, the coach) told me about it," Dhoni said. "There have been five-ball overs in the past, but we have seen the third umpire interfere and you have to come back and bowl that ball. Usually that's what has happened to us also. It didn't happen in this game, fair enough. Nothing much can be done now.
"I don't know (if a full over might have broken the tie) because you could have had a dot ball. It happens in cricket, so maybe it would have been a dot."