India vs Australia, 7th ODI: Statistical highlights

The statistical highlights from the 7th ODI of the CB tri-series between India and Australia at Brisbane.

updated: February 19, 2012 21:34 IST
  • Total Shares

Brisbane: The statistical highlights from the 7th ODI of the CB tri-series between India and Australia at Brisbane.

# Mahendra Singh Dhoni improved an already good record in ODIs in Australia. His aggregate of 538 (ave.67.25) includes four fifties in 15 games.

# Dhoni has recorded his fourth fifty against Australia - his 45th in ODIs. As skipper, he has averaged 56.90 in ODIs - 4211 runs in 117 matches, including four centuries and 31 fifties.

# Dhoni's splendid average of 56.90 is the highest by a captain in ODIs (minimum qualification: 1000 runs).

# Australia's brilliant win is their 19th in 36 matches at Gabba (Lost 13 & NR 4).

# Australia's success % against India is 63.00 - 63 wins, 37 losses and 8 no-result games out of 108 contested.

# Australia have defeated India in an ODI at Gabba after a gap of almost 20 years - their last victory was by one run on March 1, 1992.

# Australia's victory by 110 runs is their fifth largest over India in terms of runs in ODIs - the biggest is by 208 runs at Sydney on February 8, 2004.

# Australia's super win is the highest by any team by runs' margin at Gabba, surpassing the 94-run win by Sri Lanka against South Africa on January 17, 2006.

# Australia have won three ODIs and lost two against India at Gabba.

# Australia (288/5) have posted their highest total against India at Gabba, eclipsing the 284 on January 18, 2004.

# Four medium-pacers have played for India in the match - Vinay Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan and Umesh Yadav - the last time this happened was against Sri Lanka (299/8) at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium on August 28, 2010 in the Triangular Series Final when Ishant Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel and Praveen Kumar had played for India.

# David Warner (43) has recorded his highest ODI innings against India.

# The 70-run stand between Matthew Wade and Warner is Australia's highest for the opening wicket in 13 ODIs.

# The above stand is Australia's highest for the first wicket against India at Gabba, eclipsing the 46 between Adam Gilchrist and Matthew Hayden on January 18, 2004.

# Irfan Pathan (3/61) has recorded his best performance at Gabba, eclipsing the 3 for 64 against Australia on January 18, 2004.

# Pathan has captured 9 wickets at 26.88 runs apiece at Gabba in six matches - the most by an Indian bowler at this venue.

# Ricky Ponting, for the first time in his ODI career, has registered five single-digit scores in succession - 2, 1, 6, 2 & 7.

# Wade's excellent 45 off 67 balls is his second highest innings in ODIs - the highest is 67 against India at MCG on February 5, 2012.

# Michael Hussey (59 off 52 balls) has recorded his seventh fifty against India - his 36th in ODIs.

# Michael Hussey is the 13th Australian to complete 5,000 runs in ODIs, aggregating 5002 at an average of 50.52 in 142 matches.

# Hussey is the second Australian to amass 5000 runs apart from averaging 50-plus in ODIs. Michael Bevan had managed 6912 runs at an average of 53.58 in 232 matches.

# Michael Hussey took 142 innings to complete 5000 runs - the sixth quickest for Australia. Dean Jones holds an Australian record, having taken 128 innings, followed by Matthew Hayden (133), Michael Bevan (135), Ricky Ponting (137) and Mark Waugh (141).

# David Hussey, with 244 runs at an average of 81.33 in five matches, is the top run-scorer in the CB series 2011-12.

# Vinay Kumar has conceded 60 runs or more for the second time without capturing a wicket in an ODI - the first instance being 9-1-71-0 against Australia at Visakhapatnam on October 20, 2010.

# Peter Forrest (52 off 71 balls) has posted his second fifty in ODIs - his best is 66 against India at Adelaide on February 12, 2012.

# Brett Lee has taken his wickets tally to 54 (ave. 20.90) in 31 matches - the most by an Australian bowler against India in ODIs.

# Brett Lee (161 wickets at 22.96 in 90 matches in Australia) has equalled Glenn McGrath's feat of 161 wickets at 20.22 apiece in 96 matches in Australia.