Incorrigible Steve Finn denied a wicket again

Finn has had several instances when he has nudged the wicket in his bowling stride. Against India in the 4th ODI, it cost him a crucial wicket.

updated: January 23, 2013 21:50 IST
  • Total Shares

Mohali: Steve Finn has done it again. The England fast bowler was denied Suresh Raina's wicket at a crucial stage in the fourth One-day International (ODI) here on Wednesday with his knee knocking the bails off at the non-striker's end while delivering a ball that had the Indian batsman caught at slip.

The ball went straight to the hands of England skipper Alastair Cook, who had to cut down his celebration with the umpire Steve Davis calling it a dead ball.

Davis chose to apply Law 23.4(b)(vi) which states that either umpire should call and signal dead ball when: "The striker is distracted by any noise or movement or in any other way while he is preparing to receive, or receiving a delivery. This shall apply whether the source of the distraction is within the game or outside it. The ball shall not count as one of the over."

Show Full Article