Indian Super League Trophy Launched in Glittering Ceremony

The Indian Super League football tournament, designed along the lines of the widely successful Indian Premier League, will have teams from eight cities participate. The teams are based in Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Kochi, Guwahati, Goa, Chennai and Kolkata.

updated: October 05, 2014 23:22 IST
  • Total Shares
ISL trophy launch
ISL founding chairperson Nita Ambani with the trophy at the launch on Sunday.


Mumbai: Nita Ambani, founder and chairperson of Football Sports Development, Sunday unveiled the pride of Hero Indian Super League (ISL) trophy here amidst glitz and glamour. (Pics)

Joining her at the momentous occasion were world footballing legends and icon players of eight ISL clubs - Fredrik Ljungberg (Mumbai City FC), Alessandro Del Piero (Delhi Dynamos FC), Joan Capdevila (NorthEast United FC), David Trezeguet (FC Pune City), Robert Pires (FC Goa), Mikael Silvestre (Chennaiyin FC), Luis Garcia (Atletico de Kolkata) and David James (Kerala Blasters FC).

"It's a momentous day for all of us today as I stand along with the world's footballing legends to unveil the pride of Indian Super League. As these role models have inspired hundreds of thousands of players worldwide, I am sure the ISL trophy will also stand as a symbol of aspiration for many youngsters in an emergent India," said Nita.

Show Full Article