IPL 5: Kolkata end Chennai's reign and win their maiden title

There were magnificent individual performances but it was Manvinder Bisla's 89 and Jacques Kallis' 69 that took Kolkata Knight Riders past Chennai Super Kings by 5 wickets and to the Indian Premier League podium for the first time ever, on Sunday.

updated: May 28, 2012 04:14 IST
  • Total Shares

Chennai: Until Manvinder Bisla, unexpectedly, exploded in a flurry of incandescent strokeplay, Chennai Super Kings looked to done everything they needed to against Kolkata Knight Riders to complete a hat-trick of IPL triumphs.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni won a significant toss on a very good batting surface at the MA Chidambaram Stadium and did the obvious by opting to bat. Michael Hussey and M Vijay got the defending champions off to a rollicking start in the final of IPL V, and Suresh Raina then produced his best innings of the competition as the Super Kings amassed 190 for three.


Show Full Article