Sri Lanka vs Australia: 1st T20 statistical highlights

Here are the statistical highlights of the first T20 international between Sri Lanka and Australia.

updated: August 08, 2011 12:29 IST
  • Total Shares

Here are the statistical highlights of the first T20 international between Sri Lanka and Australia.

# Dilshan became the fifth batsman to register centuries in all three formats - Tests, ODIs and T20Is - the other four being Suresh Raina, Chris Gayle, Mahela Jayawardene, and Brendon McCullum.

# Tillakaratne Dilshan (104 not out) became the first captain to register a century in T20Is.

# Two captains had narrowly missed posting hundreds in T20Is - Ricky Ponting (98 not out against New Zealand at Auckland on February 17, 2005) and Chris Gayle (98 against India at Bridgetown on May 9, 2010).

# Dilshan became the first player to post a hundred in Twenty20 Internationals in Sri Lanka. Canada's Hiral Patel had made an unbeaten 88 against Ireland at Colombo,SSC on February 3, 2010.

# Sri Lanka have won two consecutive games against Australia for the first time in Twenty20 Internationals - by 7 wickets at Perth on October 31, 2010 and by 35 runs at Pallekele on August 6, 2011.

# Sri Lanka have registered their third victory over Australia in five matches in Twenty20 Internationals.

# Australia have lost six out of the last seven games contested in Twenty20 Internationals.

# Sri Lanka (198 for three) have recorded their highest total against Australia in Twenty20 Internationals.

# Sri Lanka's aforesaid total is their fourth highest in T20Is - their highest is 260 for six against Kenya at Johannesburg on September 14, 2007.

# Chandimal is the fifth batsman to be dismissed 'hit wicket' in Twenty20 Internationals, joining Gareth Hopkins (NZ), David Obuya (Kenya), Abraham de Villiers (South Africa) and Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan).

# Dilshan and Jeevan Mendis were associated in a fourth wicket stand (unbroken) of 104 - Sri Lanka's first century partnership for any wicket in Twenty20 Internationals against Australia.

# The said partnership is Sri Lanka's highest for the fourth wicket against any nation in T20Is, eclipsing the 69 between Sangakkara and Kapugedera against India at Nagpur on December 9, 2009.

# The unbroken 104-run partnership is the highest for the fourth wicket by any pair against Australia in T20Is. The said stand is the second highest for the fourth wicket in T20Is, next only to 112 (unbroken) between Eoin Morgan and Kevin Pietersen for England against Pakistan at Dubai (DSC) on Feb.19, 2010.

# Dilshan's magnificent unbeaten 104 off 57 balls is the highest individual innings by a Sri Lankan in T20Is, eclipsing the 100 by Mahela Jayawardene against Zimbabwe at Providence on May 3, 2010. Dilshan and Jayawardene are the only two centurions for Sri Lanka in Twenty20 Internationals.

# Dilshan is the second batsman to post a hundred against Australia in Twenty20 Internationals. Brendon McCullum (NZ) had registered an unbeaten 116 off 56 balls at Christchurch on February 28, 2010.

# Dilshan has got his third Man of the Match award in Twenty20 Internationals - his first two were against Pakistan and West Indies - both in England in 2009.

# Dilruwan Perera's figures of 3 for 26 are the third best by a Sri Lankan on debut in Twenty20 Internationals. Ajantha Mendis holds a Sri Lankan record for producing the best bowling figures on debut in T20Is - 4 for 15 against Zimbabwe at King City (NW) on October 10, 2008.

# David Warner (53 off 31 balls) has recorded his first fifty against Sri Lanka - his fifth in Twenty20 Internationals.

# Steve O'Keefe (22) has posted his highest individual innings in Twenty20Is.