Mahendra Singh Dhoni named ICC People's Choice player of the year

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was also part of the six nominees for the ODI cricketer of the year award.

updated: December 03, 2013 15:11 IST
  • Total Shares

India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been given the ICC People's Choice player of the year award at an event in Mumbai on Tuesday. Mr Sanjay Patel, honorary secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), received the award on the behalf of Dhoni who is in South Africa at present. (Let officials play a match, jokes Dhoni)

This year's award saw five players from four different countries nominated to win the only prize voted by the public at the annual ICC Awards.

Dhoni beat teammate and middle-order batsman Virat Kohli, Australia captain Michael Clarke, England skipper Alastair Cook and South Africa ODI captain AB de Villiers to the prize as announced by ICC's Chief Executive David Richardson. He now becomes only the third cricketer to win this coveted prize after Sachin Tendulkar, who was the first-ever recipient in 2010, and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, who won it in 2011 and 2012.

Show Full Article