Maria Sharapova Second to Qualify for WTA Finals

Maria Sharapova, who has joined Serena Williams in the eight-player competition, won three titles this year, including the French Open - her fifth Grand Slam crown.

updated: September 11, 2014 19:16 IST
  • Total Shares
Maria Sharapova
This season marks the 12th consecutive year that Sharapova has won at least one singles title.

© AP

St Petersburg: The Women's Tennis Association (WTA) announced on Thursday that Maria Sharapova has qualified for the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global, to be staged at the Singapore Sports Hub October 17-26.

"I am really excited to qualify for the WTA Finals and to bring the best in women's tennis to Singapore," said Sharapova, who is the second player to qualify for the singles competition, joining Serena Williams. The remaining six positions will be determined during the final weeks of the season.

"Qualifying for the WTA Finals is the ultimate season-long goal and we are excited to have a world-class athlete in Maria Sharapova competing for the Billie Jean King Trophy," said WTA chairman and chief executive Stacey Allaster.

Show Full Article
  • Maria Sharapova
  • Tennis