India-Centric CTL Won't Clash With International Premier Tennis League: Vijay Amritraj

The Mahesh Bhupathi-owned International Premier Tennis League (IPTL), starting Nov 28, will be held across four Asian cities -- New Delhi, Manila, Dubai and Singapore. Vijay Amritraj's Champions Tennis League (CTL), on the other hand, is an India-centric competition with franchises named after the Indian cities of Chandigarh, Pune, Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore and Delhi.

updated: October 31, 2014 19:26 IST
  • Total Shares
A file photo of Vijay Amritraj.
File photo of Indian tennis legend Vijay Amritraj.


New Delhi: The inaugural Champions Tennis League (CTL) from Nov 17-26 to be played across six cities in India won't have any clash of interests with the International Premier Tennis League (IPTL), though, both will have franchises based out of New Delhi, former Indian tennis star and CTL promoter Vijay Amritraj said on Friday.

"There is only one tennis league in India and that is CTL. IPTL is an Asia-based competition. Ours is an India-centric endeavour. There is no clash with IPTL. It is raining sports leagues in the country with several sports having a league of their own." (Also read: Champions Tennis League Will Help Tennis at Grassroot Level, Says Vijay Amritraj)

"So we decided it was time to have a tennis league which will help in unearthing fresh talent. Sports in India is going through a transformation and is evolving rapidly. So both leagues can co-exist side-by-side," Amritraj said at a press conference here for the unveiling of the city-based team, named 'Delhi Dreams'. (People Start Playing Tennis Because They Want to Play Singles, not Doubles: Vijay Amritraj to NDTV)

Show Full Article
  • Martina Hingis
  • Mahesh Bhupathi
  • David Ferrer
  • Tennis