The Ashes: DRS in spotlight again following Joe Root's controversial dismissal

Joe Root had taken a referral after on-field umpire Marais Erasamus had given him out caught behind. As the replays were not enough evidence to overturn the umpire's initial call, Root was forced to walk back to the pavilion.

updated: December 14, 2013 22:58 IST
  • Total Shares

The International Cricket Council's controversial decision review system was in the spotlight again on the second day of the third Ashes Test at the WACA Ground on Saturday. (Scorecard)

Emerging English batsmen Joe Root was given out caught behind by umpire Marais Erasmus from the bowling of Shane Watson in England's first innings.

Root, who had made just four, was adamant he had not made contact with the ball and immediately challenged the decision. (Peter Siddle's gets his bunny again)

Show Full Article