Mumbai: ICC CEO Haroon Lorgat on Monday played down the toss controversy during the India-Sri Lanka World Cup final, when the coin had to flipped twice by India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, following a confusion.
"I'm not sure whether there was a huge controversy around that. I know there was a suggestion that the match referee (Jeff Crowe) did not hear the call (made by Lanka skipper Kumar Sangakkara) and they agreed to re-toss. That's what normally happens," he said at a press conference here.
Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat to post 274/6 which was chased down successfully by India to win the coveted title after 28 years.