Champions Trophy: Denesh Ramdin charged for 'claiming catch', pleads not guilty

On Saturday, Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq slammed West Indies wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin for wrongly claiming a catch during Friday's gripping Champions Trophy clash at The Oval. Misbah scored a career-best 96 not out in his side's two-wicket defeat in south London but thought he was out for nought when Ramdin claimed a catch off man-of-the-match Kemar Roach.

updated: June 08, 2013 13:21 IST
  • Total Shares

West Indies' Denesh Ramdin has been charged with a Level 2 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct during his side's Group B encounter against Pakistan at The Oval on day two of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 on Friday, an ICC media release said. (Read: West Indies scrape past Pakistan)

Ramdin is charged with breaching Article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel which relates to "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game."

The charge has been laid by the on-field umpires Steve Davis and Nigel Llong, third umpire Tony Hill and fourth umpire Richard Kettleborough.

Show Full Article